Websocket, Gateway, Server, and Client setup

VR Tracker : 3D Positional Tracker for Virtual Reality Forums Forum Software Websocket, Gateway, Server, and Client setup

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Jules Thuillier 3 years, 8 months ago.

• Author

NPinion
    Participant

I saw the latest update guys, that is great news. I have been struggling to get VRTracker up and running. I am running into issues when I try to launch the Gateway. I’m not much of a software guy other than some basic experience with C++ and limited experience with Unity, and I have zero experience with Python. I am working from a clean install of all related software/programs attempting to run the gateway on a PC. I’m hoping to get a little more instruction on how to actually launch the gateway.

I am working from the updated files posted recently. I opened Python IDLE, then opened the module websocketserver.py. When trying to run this module I get the error

Traceback (most recent call last):
    File “C:\<PATH>\VR Tracker\VrTrackerUpdate\VrTracker\Gateway\websocketserver.py”, line 2, in <module>
    from websocket_server import WebsocketServer
    File “C:\<PATH>\VR Tracker\VrTrackerUpdate\VrTracker\Gateway\websocket_server.py”, line 2, in <module>
    ImportError: cannot import name WebsocketServer

This led me to believe that the module was missing the underscore so I changed the module name to websocket_server.py. Running this new module produces this error

File “C:\Users\Nate\Documents\000 Projects\VR Tracker\VrTrackerUpdate\VrTracker\Gateway\websocket_server.py”, line 2, in <module>
    File “C:\Users\Nate\Documents\000 Projects\VR Tracker\VrTrackerUpdate\VrTracker\Gateway\websocket_server.py”, line 2, in <module>
    ImportError: cannot import name WebsocketServer

Obviously I was going down the wrong, so I decided to just comment out line 2 (from websocket_server import WebsocketServer)
    This started producing what I assume to be library errors